How to correct invoices

In FBO One, an invoice is for one or more orders of the same debtor. It is not possible to modify invoices. Also, orders cannot be modified anymore, once they are invoiced. In order to resolve mistakes in an order that is already invoiced, you can follow one of the following steps:

Create a related order

If you need to correct a service, or add one that was forgotten on the original order, it is suitable to create a related order. To create a blank related order, you use the 'Create blank related order' command in right hand 'Order' drop down menu of the original order, and click OK in the Create Blank Related Order screen. Alternatively, you can also create an OTC order via Create Order in the top menu. The first option has the advantage that the debtor and flight legs of the original order are automatically present in the related order. Also, if your system is setup to use secondary order numbers, the related order will have the same primary order number as the original order, for example, a related order to order AMS-1324   will be numbered AMS-1234  -2 if you use the ‘Create Blank Related Order’ command to create it. If you created a new OTC order, it will get an unrelated new primary order number.

On the new order, you can add services that were originally forgotten, as well credit services that should have been taken off the original order. You can credit a service by setting the quantity to a negative number, which results in negative amount – a credit. FBO One will automatically print ‘credit order’ in the heading of the handling order in case the total amount is negative. For services with an automatically calculated price or quantity, you normally cannot specify a negative quantity or a specific price. In that case, you can check the box ‘override quantity and unit price’ in the edit service screen.

In order to be able to override the price for a service, you must have proper authorization. Once all the services are added to related order, you can create an invoice for it by following the regular back-office workflow for new orders as the related order is created in the ‘registered’ state by default.

 
Create a full credit order

If you have sent an invoice to the wrong debtor, or in case many changes are needed to the order or invoice, you can choose to fully credit an order automatically. This command is part of the orders work flow.  If you open the original order, which must be in the ‘invoiced’ workflow state, you can find the ‘credit order’ order command in the list of available workflow transitions.

When this command is executed it will create a related credit order which is a copy of the original that fully cancels the original because all quantities and amounts will be the negated. You cannot modify the services in this credit order. However, in the credit-order command, you have the option to create an additional related copy of the original order that can be used as a starting point for a corrected order. Both the credit order and the optional additional copy of the order are created in the registered workflow state, so you follow the normal back office workflow to invoice them.

Delete the invoice

As long as the invoice is not booked into the accounting system it is possible to delete the invoice in FBO One. The order or orders on the invoice will be reset to the ‘registered’ state and can be corrected and invoiced again. The invoice itself will be set to the deleted work flow state. This implies that the invoice number will not be reused, but you will be able to account for the gap in the invoice number sequence because you can always display the list of deleted invoices, as well as the audit log for each of them.

Delete the booking entry

As a last resort, a possibility exists to delete invoices that are marked as booked. This might for example be needed in cases where importing the invoice data into the accounting system fails, for example due to incorrect configuration of ledger codes in FBO One.
To delete a booked invoice, you must delete the booking entry that holds the invoice. The entry is placed in the deleted state, and the invoices in the entry are placed back in the initial state of the invoice workflow: ‘created’. You can then delete the invoice as discussed in the paragraph above. Note that any of these actions are logged in the audit log and that for each of these commands you need authorization that is not normally assigned to staff in the back office accounting role.

See also

Taking and correcting payments